Howl’s Moving Castle: Soundtrack 2xLP

by Studio Ghibli Records

$129.95 AUD

Sold out

Notify me when this product is available

Shipping within Australia from $8.95

THE SOUNDTRACK TO ONE OF STUDIO GHIBLI’S MOST BELOVED FILMS ON VINYL FOR THE 1ST TIME! Howl’s Moving Castle was written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki and released in 2004, eventually becoming the third highest grossing film in Japan of all time (behind Titanic and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away) and Miyazaki’s personal favorite of all his creations. 

The film is set in a fictional kingdom with 21st-century technology, quickly becoming part of the canon of steampunk culture, with strong anti-war sentiments laced throughout inspired by Miyazaki’s outspoken opposition to the Iraq War. Howl’s Moving Castle‘s soundtrack was created by in-house composer Joe Hisaishi and performed by the New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, and until now has never been released on vinyl.

The main title theme “The Promise Of The World” includes vocals from Chieko Baisho, the voice actress of the film’s main character, Sophie. The audio has been newly remastered and the packaging is exquisite, with full colour gatefold outer sleeve, obi strip, and printed insert with illustrations from the film and liner notes.


  • Black double vinyl pressing
  • Custom etching on side D
  • 1st time on vinyl
  • Housed in full color gatefold sleeve w/ obi strip + liner notes
  • Newly remastered sound
  • Limited edition
  • Record label: Studio Ghibli Records 2020